Open Minded Portrait- Typhoon Devastates the Philippines

L.I- Students will use their descripitive launguage skills to create a detailed piece of writing.

Tragically, the Philippines and surrounding countries have recently been devastated by yet another natural disaster. Typhoon Haiyan hit the country last Friday, and was one of the biggest storms to hit the area in history. Up to 10,00 people are feared dead and millions have been affected and now now homeless and grieving the death of their loved ones.
By Monday you need to use one of the following images to create an Open Minded Portrait. You can write it from a victims, reporter, or rescue worker’s point of view.

20

52e4cc01ca329d25420f6a7067002e33

916833-severe-weather

5083978-3x2-700x467

5084938-3x2-700x467

APTOPIX Philippines Typhoon

Philippines typhoon

philippines-typhoon-10nov2013

typhoon1169-408x264

9 thoughts on “Open Minded Portrait- Typhoon Devastates the Philippines

  1. I heard sirens blaring and people shouting for help desperately in a strange, different languages. As I tried to take in the absolute, pure destruction I remembered how lucky I was, back in Australia. I saw adults crying for their young ones, and I thought how depressing it would be to be them. I ran over to a young woman. She could not have been more than 30 years old. She was holding the hand of a dead child, most possibly her son. She was crying, so I asked her if I could do anything for her. She simply said “Help me. Please Help me”. I did what I could, walked over to a trailer lodged on top of a huge mound of wood. I looked up in amazement and thought how could that possibly got up there. With all the cries behind me I forgot my thinking and walked over to a couple searching through the rubble of a house. The man turned around and asked me to help them find their belongings. I managed to find one damp picture ripped in half, a few items of raggedy clothing, and a straw hat. I said I had to go help some others, they excepted that and then told me that I was a brilliant man. My helping continued throughout the day and night, then for about a month after that.

  2. Oh no! Wheres my Mummy, I cant find her anywhere! I hope to god she is not dead but I do highly dought that she survived from this Viscous Typhoon, just look at all this rubble. All the of the other children are with their parents so wheres mine! I feel so letdown that and upset that I can’t here myself think. Even though I did survive This Haiyan business I don’t think I will be living much longer. I have filthy cloths and I also haven’t washed myself for wile because Mt other brother keeps hogging it! By the way where is my brother and Father. I saw them escape the house when Haiyan happened. wait a minute, they probably drowned because of the bi as title wave! All I have is the cloths on my back and this thing I’m holding which was something really valuable to me. Well I still can’t find Mum or Mums body so I guess I’m the only one left. Well this house of mine isn’t gonna start rebuilding itself. well loosing my family is a good thing and a bad. The bad thing is, the’re dead, but the good thing is I don’t have to live under my parents rules and I don’t hve to put up with any arguments and I have my own house. Well, lets get started.

  3. I look out side through my window and I saw all this distruction. So I walk outside, I struggle to breath with all the smoke in the air, trees gone to produce fresh air and all the pollution from junk. I’m crying because I don’t know what I’m going to do now. I look at my child and he scoffing,( from all the pollution) so I covered his face with a tawel (so he doesn’t breath as much pollution). I’m trying to find my belongings under all this destroyed stuff. I see people jumping into shops trying to survive. I struggle to find any of my belongings in this mess. I feel like I have nothing and I’m going to die. I start to wonder what will I do now?….

  4. I look out side through my window and I saw all this distruction. So I walk outside, I struggle to breath with all the smoke in the air, trees gone to produce fresh air and all the pollution from the junk. I’m crying because I don’t know what I’m going to do now. I look at my child and he scoffing,( from all the pollution) so I covered his face with a tawel (so he doesn’t breath as much pollution). I’m trying to find my belongings under all this destroyed stuff. I see people jumping into shops trying to survive. I struggle to find any of my belongings in this mess. I feel like I have nothing and I’m going to die. I start to wonder what will I do now?….

  5. I was sleeping in my bed in by mother lap and then I wake up to screaming and yelling, I look around were is my mother I see water and something coming from the sea I fined my mother and we go somewhere that is safe but I think that my friends did the same but they did not I was sacred crying and want help I cant find my mother still I look out side for my mother I see her under hundreds of cobblestone I help her up, she is bleeding, we get token to a place that will be safe. We are walking there but I was still worried about the typhoon that might hit us and kill us I pry to god to not kill so much people but I now it wont work. I think in my head that 2000 PEOPLE WILL DIE by the biggest typhoon in the world. when we get there I sit down I think what is going to happen to everyone are they going to die and me too, I hug my mother till it ends I never stoped hunging after it happened I opened my eyes and saw the world around me gone I to the trash like it was old take out food just gone in a flash like it happened like if you say hi to some one but I will always remember the people that died on this day and the typhoon. bye to all my friends that died and my father.

  6. Ahhh! I hear the screams of people as they slowly find there way out of the rubble and destruction of the typhoon. I feel lost, worried. I start to cry not knowing what’s going on. Where are my family, are they ok? Looking around I try and help others still thinking about my lost family. Feeling lost and sick I keep wondering where do I go? What do I do? I think about everyone affected I say no to help myself and for the others to get the treatment to get better. Not knowing what’s happening I try to help but my injuries are immobilising. I wonder what about the other people are they ok? Someone comes to my aid trying to get me to safety. I’m getting treatment feeling guilty because there’s 9,000 other people that need help. I hear rescue crews discussing, they’re saying how many are feared dead, 10,000 are feared dead….. I stop and think for a minuet I feel sorry for all the families and citizens who have been affected by this horrific event of storms that has just passed. Knowing how many people are hurt, dead or injured puts it in perspective how big this typhoon was. I prey for everyone’s safety…..

  7. Ear-piercing screams fill the atmosphere. Debris is scattered along the ground, covering thousands of bodies – dead or alive. I struggle my way up, dusting the dirt on my body off. The sky is a dull grey as if nothing ever happened. But it did happen, and now thousands of lives are lost. Familes are begging for their children to come back. I’m surrounded by broken houses that were filled with memories. A sharp pain strucks my knee and I fall to the ground. A small, helpless child comes rushing towards me, disorientated. He shakes me, yelling at me to find his family. I shake my head, trying to tell him they’re gone. He looks at my knee and begins to sulk. He eagerly tries to get me up to help him find his family, but I just reject him. This has ruined everyone’s lives.

  8. I’m a lonely terrified kid trying to find my mum. All I can here is screams and yelling for help. i feel so useless by not helping anyone. I realize my mum is not with me so I try to find shelter and food, someone yells out my name, I hear it again I look around for someone I know, the yelling gets bolder and bolder. I find myself in an evacuation center, I find rice on the table, I go up to an officer a mumble “could I have some food, please” and he said yes I grab my food and sit at the table by myself, after we all eat we could get to sleep, we all preyed it will soon be over.

  9. I’m sleeping peacefully in my bed and all the sudden BOM CRACKER BANG. Houses scathed everywhere i try to find my mum i can’t find her anywhere MUM where are you I’m over here mum you’re going to get squashed I’m going to get help. I find a man standing in the middle of the road hey can u help me save my mum she’s stuck under a pile of wood and she’s going to be squished. I get back to my mum I help her out of the rubble and we go and try find the rest of our family.

Leave a Reply

