Homework – Week 9 Powerful Language

3/4A CLASSROOM

For this week’s homework you are going to use a piece of writing to look at powerful language. Your homework will be due on Monday 15th of September.

Read the 100 word challenge and complete the tasks below.

During the dull afternoon, as the old rusty gates slowly open, the zealous crowd roars in delight from the balconies above. The raging bulls charge towards us, exponentially building their speed and anger with every step they take. A wave of nerves sweep over me as I feel the unstable ground rumble like a devastating earthquake.

I try and sprint away from the massive bulls that chase me with their deadly horns and powerful bodies. Around me, people are recklessly screaming and running frantically, trying to avoid the stampeding bulls. What I thought was going to be an exciting challenge, is turning out to be a disastrous nightmare.

  • Make a list…

View original post 60 more words

17 thoughts on “Homework – Week 9 Powerful Language

  1. –All adjectives
    -Dull
    -Zealous
    -Exponentially
    -Rumble?
    -Devastatingly
    -Massive
    -Deadly
    -Recklessly
    -Frantically
    -Stampeding
    -Disastrous

    –One tier 2 word and it’s meaning–
    I’ve picked the word “disastrous”. I think it’s a very powerful word to use. Disastrous means something causes a lot of damage. Nearly the same meaning as “disaster”.

    –Write down the simile–
    A wave if nerves sweep over me as I feel the unstable ground rumble like a devastating earthquake.

    –My own simile–

    The stampeding bulls charged towards us like a giant, powerful tidal wave.

    — 3 synonyms for “devastating”–
    -Dangerous
    -Horrible
    -Powerful

  2. I was running down a dirty and small but long hallway because I was late for class when I trip. I sat up and look be hide I started to panic because I seen I yellow and green big monster running after me. I get up and start running I look around for a door and then I see it a door on my right hand side. the door looks old and it’s dirty but I walk in there any way. I walk into the room when the monster isn’t looking. I look around for somewhere to hide but there was just book glass and spider web every where I looked. Then I fall through a hole on the and the lights go out where could I be?

  3. TASK 1.
    Adjectives:
    dull, rusty, zealous, delight, raging, exponentially, wave, unstable, devastating, sprint, massive, deadly, recklessly, frantically,
    stampeding & disastrous.
    TASK 2.
    Tier 2 Word:
    Reckless- The meaning of reckless means doing things roughly. Apparently the people were recklessly running about because they were scared of the bulls.
    TASK 3.
    A wave of nerves sweep over me as I feel the unstable ground rumble like a devastating earthquake.
    TASK 4.
    The stampeding bulls charged towards us like a windy tornado.
    TASK 5.
    catastrophic
    destructive
    disastrous

  4. Key words I found-
    Recklessly
    exponentially
    devastating
    disastrous

    Important sentences I found-
    People are recklessly sreaming and running.
    The raging bulls run towards us.
    A wave of nerves sweep over me as I feel the unstable ground rumble

  5. ALL ADJECTIVES
    *Dull
    *Old
    *Rusty
    *Slowly
    *Zealous
    *Raging
    *Exponentially
    *Rumble
    *Deadly
    *Recklessly
    *Frantically
    *Disastrous

    Tier 2 Word: Zealous
    Meaning: Full of Zeal / Showing Zeal

    Simile: A wave of nerves sweep over me as I feel the unstable ground rumble like a devastating earthquake.

    My own simile: The stampeding bulls charged towards us like raging flood waters.

    Synonyms for Devastating:
    1) Shock 2) Grief 3) Distress.

  6. Adjectives
    Dull, rusty,zealous,raging,massive, deadly,powerful,exciting,devastating,
    disastrous,unstable,recklessly,frantically,exponentially,stampeding.
    Simile
    Roars- the crowd roars as loud as a racing motorbike.
    The stampeding bull charges at us like we are holding a red flag to it.
    Similes for devastating
    Heartbroken, upsetting, dangerous.

  7. 1. Dull
    2. Rusty
    3. Zealous
    4. Exponentially
    5. Unstable
    6. Massive
    7. Devastatingly
    8. Powerful
    9. Deadly
    10. Disastrous
    11. Franticly
    Tier two word
    I think exponentially would be the tier two word it means in an exponential manner.
    ~Simile~
    A wave of nerves sweep over me as I feel the unstable ground rumble like a devastating earthquake.
    The stampeding bulls hit the ground like a stampede of elephants.
    Claustrophobic, traumatic, annihilate

  8. key words I had found
    Recklessly
    Exponentially
    Devastating
    Balconies
    Disastrous
    Massive
    Stampeding
    Deadly
    Zealous
    Important sentences
    these are my examples that I thought were Important people are recklessly screaming and running trying to avoid the stampeding bulls.

  9. key words I found
    exponentially
    zealous
    devastating
    Recklessly
    Frantically?
    important sentences in the text.
    Around me, people are recklessly screaming and running frantically.
    The raging bulls charge towards us.
    exponentially building their speed and anger with every step they take.
    A wave of nerves sweep over me as I feel the unstable ground rumble like a devastating earthquake.

  10. {Key Words I Found}
    • zealous
    • exponentially
    • frantically
    • disastrous
    • devastating
    { Important Sentences I Found}
    • Around me, people are recklessly screaming and running frantically
    • A wave of nerves sweep over me as I feel the unstable ground rumble like a devastating earthquake.
    • as the old rusty gates slowly open
    • exponentially building their speed and anger with every step they take
    • I try and sprint away from the massive bulls that chase me with their deadly horns and powerful bodies.
    • What I thought was going to be an exciting challenge, is turning out to be a disastrous nightmare.

  11. key words I found
    -Dull
    Recklessly
    exponentially
    disastrous
    -Zealous
    Important sentences n the text.
    The raging bulls charge towards us.
    A wave of nerves sweep over me as I feel the unstable ground rumble like a devastating earthquake.
    Around me, people are recklessly screaming and running frantically.

  12. key words i found
    dull 1
    delight 2
    rusty 3
    zealous 4
    exponentially 5
    rumble 6
    deadly 7
    reckless 8
    massive 9
    frantically 10
    disastrous 11

    tier two word
    I chose frantically because it’s a powerful word and it means that you fight back in this case you run away.

    simile
    A RAGING BULL
    my simile
    the stampeding bull charged towards us like a thunderbolt.

    synonyms for devastating
    destructive
    disastrous
    shattering

  13. adjectives:
    dull,
    rusty,
    delight,
    frantically,
    zealous,
    recklessly,
    rumble
    Teir 2 word: exponentially meaning: something has grown a lot Simile: I feel the unstable ground rumble like a devastating earthquake
    my simile: The stampeding bulls charged towards us like a rumbling volcano erupting
    devastating: sad, awful, and sorrowful

  14. Key words I found-
    Recklessly
    stampeding
    exponentially
    zealous
    devastation
    dull
    rusty
    massive
    unstable
    My Tier two word-
    My tier two word is zealous means passionate on something.
    Simile- A whole bunch of strong bulls running as people get hurt.
    Synonyms for zealous-
    Devout, devoted, fiery.

Leave a Reply

